Lazy Arroz con Pollo (Spanish Chicken & Rice)

I’m not ashamed to admit that I’m a lazy cook.  As I always say:

“Lazy or efficient?  It’s all in the eye of the beholder.”
~ So Says Sunny

One of my favorite lazy tricks is adding Tyson Grilled Chicken to Knorr Rice and Pasta Sides.  This dish uses their Spanish Rice Fiesta Sides.

This Arroz con Pollo recipe is an easy way to create one of our family favorites.


Lazy Arroz con Pollo
(Spanish Chicken and Rice)

INGREDIENTS*:

  • 2 cups Water
  • 1 tbs. Vegetable Oil (I use virgin olive oil)
  • 1 pkg. Knorr Spanish Rice Fiesta Sides
  • 1-1½ cups Tyson Grilled & Ready Diced Chicken Breast
  • 1 small can of Tomato Sauce (optional, to make a saucier dish)
  • Side salad or vegetables

Makes 3-4 servings in 10-15 minutes.


* TIPS:

Knorr Spanish Rice is by no means a spicy dish but for spice-wimps like me (I don’t even use black pepper), just toss out a little of the powder from the pouch.

I keep Tyson Grilled & Ready Chicken Breast on hand in the freezer.  The “Family Size” bags have a zip-lock so I just throw in a couple hands-full.  It’s sold in both the freezer and fridge sections.

Knorr and Tyson occasionally offer coupons online (check Coupons.com and the brand websites).

NOTE: I get no commission for my brand recommendations.
I’m just passing along useful info.


PREPARE:

  1. Pour water and vegetable oil into a medium saucepan and bring to a boil.
  2. Stir the rice pouch into the boiling water (throwing away a little of the powder if you’re a spice-wimp like me).
  3. After about 5 minutes, add tomato sauce, if desired.  The sauce will add to cooking time for the liquid to absorb (or consider using less water).
  4. Reduce heat, cover (if not using tomato sauce), and simmer, stirring periodically.
  5. Add chicken (refrigerated or thawed in microwave for 1-2 min.) a couple of minutes before rice/sauce is done.
  6. Continue cooking until rice is soft and sauce is desired thickness.  Package says 7 min. total but it’s closer to 10 min. with the small can of tomato sauce.
  7. Remove from heat and let stand at least 2 minutes.
  8. While waiting, prepare side salad and/or microwave a side vegetable.
  9. Stir and serve.

SERVE & EAT:

I recommend serving Arroz con Pollo with a green vegetable such as green beans or a garden salad (cool and crunchy to contrast the warm and soft dish).

2017-08-08_199

Also consider serving with Apple Juice Refresher for a cool balance.


LATER:

Arroz con Pollo is moist so leftovers freeze, refrigerate, and microwave well.

Leave a comment